Day 5- The Very Hungry caterpillar

I think I was looking forward to this scene more than the kids were or should I say kid. My daughter had the biggest meltdown at the prospect of this activity and just wanted to watch her show. I knew that when she saw the finished product that she would want one for herself. So I made her one.

Today we explored the butterfly, such an imaginative and colourful piece.

Things you will need:
Cellophane- colours of your choice
White paper
Texts permanent
Scissors
Pva glue
Paintbrushes
Clear contact
Clear a4 film paper ( or a laminate paper)

2015/01/img_0665.jpg

Start by drawing your butterfly on your white piece of paper ( when I get to a computer later I will update a Pdf file that you can use)
Once completed I put the film over the drawing and stuck it on by using Blu Tack. I cut up all the cellophane and set it up on a plate.

Frugal tip #1 you can water down most Pva glue and it will still have the desired effect you want for this activity.

2015/01/img_0668.jpg

Use the guidelines to support where you are flying and placing the cellophane.

2015/01/img_0671.jpg

The only thing that went wrong I think was that I cut the cellophane on a corner edging and it made all the pieces very hard to unfold.

2015/01/img_0673.jpg

When the pieces are dry cut out a piece of contact. Remove whit paper and Blu Tack from you butterfly. Apply contact and cut out the butterfly shape.
Frugal Tip #2 keep the paper backing off your contact and use it as scrap graphs paper.

2015/01/img_0676.jpg

Add as much or as little detail with a permanent marker as you like.

Hang on a window and enjoy the beautiful colours that shine through it.

2015/01/img_0679.jpg

2015/01/img_0680.jpg

My daughter once seeing they were finished claimed mine as hers. I always try to use these meltdowns as teachable moments.

UPDATE: BUTTERFLY TEMPLATE

butterflytemplate

Leave a Reply

