Day 2- The Very Hungry Caterpillar

After my last post I decided that I would make a story board with the kids based on The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. I like to think that this will make the story more interactive for the kids so that are able to grasp onto the context of the story more quickly.

Again we started our activity off by watching Eric Carle read the Very Hungry Caterpillar ( you can watch it here ). I never tire of watching this.

Today we made the ‘A little egg lay on a leaf’ scene.

Materials needed:

Coloured paper
Cardboard
Scissors
Glag
Glue stick
Crayons

2015/01/img_0575-0.jpg

As you can see I have again cut out all the pieces for the kids to use. I didn’t have the exact colours I was looking for, but that’s what I plan on using the crayons for. Also if you don’t have coloured paper you can always colour in the sections to you desired colour.

2015/01/img_0577.jpg

All the items laid out on the picnic rug, I’ve also included one of those cheap plastic chopping boards for them to work on.

2015/01/img_0580.jpg

2015/01/img_0581.jpg

2015/01/img_0584.jpg

2015/01/img_0587.jpg

Tip- don’t forget to glue your background on cardboard first.

As you can see we coloured the blue back ground with crayons to try and make it look darker, it turned out ok. The rest was pretty easy, again my toddler just loved the gluing part, he stuck down the moon but I had to finish the rest.

He was pretty happy with the end result and kept saying Moon, Egg, Leaf.

Happy creating, don’t forget to come back tomorrow and see what scene we will be making next.

Fun Fact: New Brain Connections Are Created Every Time You Form a Memory.

Leave a Reply

